RSS

Who’s that Pokémon?! It’s… … Sylveon…?

17 Feb

(Shrieks like a little schoolboy.)

AAAAAHHHHHH!  There’s a new Eeveelution in the world of Pokémon!  It’s name: SYLVEON!

image

The upcoming Pokémon X & Y has confirmed Eeevee will be having its 8th (optional) evolution.  There’s basically nothing revealed about this new addition to the Eevee team.  The only data available to us is a bunch of pictures, a few stats, and a video trailer.  No move list, TM/HM list, or even if it has a gender.  Sylveon’s type has not been revealed either.  So being the Eeveelution fan that I am, I tried to guess which type Sylveon will embody.

image

In the nice, little chart above are all existing Pokémon types – let’s start!  I’m certain Sylveon won’t be any of the types Eevee evolves into so far.  With that, Fire, Water, Grass, Electric, Psychic, Ice, and Dark are off the list. I’m taking out Rock, Ground, and Steel because this new Pokémon is…  Well…  Too damn cute. And the colors don’t match the aforementioned 3 types – one thing that characterizes Eevee’s evolutions is the color-element matching schema.

Seven types left: Normal, Fighting, Flying, Poison, Bug, Dragon, and Ghost.  I’m going to go ahead and eliminate Bug, Ghost, and Dragon simply judging by aesthetics.  I believe Sylveon lacks characteristics that makes it look either like a creepy crawler, a poltergeist, or a mystical reptile-like creature.  I thought Fighting type Eeveelution would be pretty cool, but Sylveon looks too delicate.  As for it being a Flying type, I hope not.  I want a celestial looking white dog with kickass wings – like Pegasus.  Period.

It is my guess Sylveon will be a Poison type or a Normal type.  Its body looks elegant enough to fit both types as well as its color layout.  Personally, I would LOVE for Sylveon to be a Poison type.  Poison types hold a special place in my heart because many of them epitomize mystery and manipulation – appealing facets.  However, I wouldn’t mind Sylveon being a Normal type.  I believe Eevee has gone through enough generations for it to have an evolution that doesn’t require a stone or the time of day.  Let Eevee have its chance to enjoy a level based transformation for goodness sake!

In the end, whatever the Sylveons of the world are destined to be, I am going to love it.  I’ve been a fan of this game since it started back in the late 1990s and the array of Eeeveelutions always fascinated me.  I cannot wait for Pokémon X & Y to come out and be able to try the new plethora of monsters roaming the lands – especially Sylveon.

What am I?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in Fanboy, New World Unlocked

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Who’s that Pokémon?! It’s… … Sylveon…?

  1. Fran

    February 20, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Poison! I agree. It even came up to my mind before finished reading this lol

    Like

     
    • loucyo

      February 20, 2013 at 5:31 pm

      Don’t it? I think my prediction is on point. Did you know I was reading discussions about Sylveon and people never mentioned Poison? I thought that was interesting.

      Like

       
  2. Saidthekat

    February 20, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    Poison would definitely be ok, but I totally agree that it’s eevee’s time to finally have a natural evolution.

    Like

     
    • loucyo

      February 22, 2013 at 11:59 pm

      Thanks for the reply! I am glad that a fellow Gamer agrees – Eevee does need a break from environmental influences. For real.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
