RSS

Blowing a cartridge in 2013?!

08 May

WHOAH!  Apparently Summer 2013 will be FULL of awesome new tech for us Gamers to indulge in.  While researching for new material for my blog, I came across various articles with the words “Super Retro Console.”

And here it is!

Say hello to Super Retro Trio!

Super Retro Console plays SNES, NES, Genesis, GBA photo

This little baby right here had me spasm!  Named “Super Retro Trio,” will hit vendors during the summer and will give Players the ability to play NES, SNES, Genesis, and GBA (with an adapter that’s sold separately) on just one console.  How awesome is that shit?!

One of the best parts?  The price.  According to various articles I read, the console will be a measly $69.99!  The adapter (needed to play GBA games) is only $39.99.  To add to the excitement, a few articles mentioned there will be a bundle pack including the console and adapter for $89.99!  If that didn’t catch your attention, apart from the fact that you’ll be able to play motherfucking CLASSICS, I don’t know what will.

Surprisingly enough, I discovered there are other consoles out there in the market that have more or less the same functionality as the SRT.  I was surprised I have never heard of these consoles before and that none of my Gamer friends ever told me about these wondrous inventions…  Assholes.  Anyhow, moving on…

Bottom line, I support these consoles on their entirety mainly because of the efficiency and cost.  Purchasing the SRT is a HUGE money saver –  especially for us who want to rebuild/enhance our gaming library.  For example, some of us always had that “friend” who we lend them a game and never got it back.  OR your console gets busted open while you were moving your few pieces of furniture into your new apartment.  So having to spend less that $100.00 to basically own 4 different consoles sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me.  That spare moolah from not having to buy 4 different consoles can be use to buy Mario Bros., Super Mario RPG, and Pokémon LeafGreen.  Oh, the wonderful memories…  Although I have to say that if it was up to me, Genesis would’ve not made the cut – I would’ve replaced Genesis with N64.  Personally I believe N64 is one of the best consoles ever created and the game roster was just phenomenally epic.  No disrespect to Genesis, but: N64 > Genesis.  Especially after looking through this Pretty Awesome Timeline.

Lastly, the soon-to-happen launch of the SRT made me think about new upcoming consoles – especially the OUYA.  If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll remember I discussed the new Android powered console OUYA, which is schedule to also hit the stores during the summer.  I wonder how the OUYA will navigate the waters not only competing against the Titan Console Trio (Wii, PS4, and Xbox One), but also with this magical instrument that conglomerates a vast number of finest games ever made.  I guess we will have to wait and see.

What are your thoughts on the Super Retro Trio?  Do you think it’s worth it?

See you around!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2013 in Difficulty: Novice, Fanboy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Blowing a cartridge in 2013?!

  1. Fran

    May 9, 2013 at 1:35 am

    Hey! the only reason i never told you about these is because they are not licensed products and many people complain that they don’t play special cartridges, like some of the most important classics came in, and the quality is more like a little toy 😛

    Like

     
    • loucyo

      May 9, 2013 at 9:44 am

      Fair enough. I’ll let it slide. However, all the articles I read seem to have faith in SRT. I have to say that if I had a library like you do, I would give it a try.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
