RSS

Basically, in Ganondorf’s words, “What they can possibly hope to achieve?”

03 Oct

“I’m allowed to say, ‘meh.'”

That’s the attitude Reggie Fils-Aime, President of Nintendo of America, has towards the PlayStation 4 and XBOX One systems’ game lineups.  He appears to feel there’s no threat en route to the Wii U because when in a console war “it’s all about the games.”  Reggie embellishes the latter statement claiming Nintendo’s ownership over unique and legendary franchises like Zelda, Mario, and Donkey Kong – and he is right…  To an extent.

I agree the titles mentioned above are indeed beyond greatness; however, I believe there’s a line between maintaining a positive attitude and beginning to sound bastardly cocky – which I feel the latter is what’s happening to Mr. President over there.  I understand being passionate about a console – as I am a Nintendo fan myself.  However, it’s not a real necessity to diminish others’ work, especially with no facts supporting such devaluing indications.  Don’t get me wrong, if something’s a piece of crap, I can acknowledge it and call it what it is: crap.  Nonetheless, as I wrote in my entries Part III – PlayStation 4: “The most powerful console” and Let the console war begin! Part III, NEITHER of Wii U’s rivals are opening with only “meh” category games.  N-E-I-T-H-E-R.

Reggie’s allowed to say “meh,” but that doesn’t take away the fact of it being a distasteful comment directed to the work of numerous individuals and marvelous gaming franchises.  It all makes it seem like if it’s not Nintendo, it sucks.  And that’s far away from the truth.

So what do you think about Reggie Fils-Aime’s expressions?  You already know mine, but I’m interested in yours.

See you around!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in Battle Royale

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Basically, in Ganondorf’s words, “What they can possibly hope to achieve?”

  1. Fran

    October 7, 2013 at 1:59 am

    I love what Nindendo has done, but the truth is that while they indeed have a few of gaming’s most beloved IP’s… they really need to step up their game!!!!!!!! They need to break out of their shell and expand their market a bit ( lfor example: Bayonetta… god I hate them for stealing that one).

    Like

     
    • loucyo

      October 7, 2013 at 2:33 pm

      I believe Nintendo is very selective to where to expand because it wants to retain it’s own unique entity. Like you can box PlayStation and Xbox together to compare them to no end, but Nintendo’s consoles and games tend to be on a category of their own. If that makes sense.

      I am just surprised Reggie would say something like that.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
